At the end of the day…..

At the end of this post is the link and video that inspired this post.

Without conscious thought, we live out each day stumbling over the little things that seem ever so significant at the moment, and it takes us days, months, or even years to realize that those things hold so little weight to this thing that is happening right now called life.  I am sure that we have all come to this realization at some point in time, but it seems that we forget it far too quickly, maybe even more quickly than we know.  Every now and then, we are inspired to change our lives by reading stories about individuals whose time was foreseeably finite. Stories such as that of Randy Pausch, the professor from Carnegie Mellon who gave a very real “Last Lecture“, and more recently, Zach Sobiech, teach us to re-evaluate what is most important in our lives and what is it that we would like to achieve knowing we would die.  And that is the lesson.  What are the things that will leave me feeling I have lived without regret.  I cannot define this for anyone but myself.

For me, it is this: I will have told everyone I hold dear to my heart that I love them and that they have made my life better for having been in it; that I will leave this world without hate in my heart; that I will have experienced a love so colourful and beautiful, and to have loved someone with all that I am capable of so that they will experience the same; to try my hardest to make sure my parents get to live the life they have worked ever so hard to give me and my brothers; to have shared more laughs and tears of joy with everyone I love than I could ever count; I will live my life according to me, rather than what others expect of me, so that I will have achieved what I want, and not what they want.

At the end of the day, I want to fall asleep knowing that if I were to never wake up again, that I will have no regrets.

Please check out this link and the video below on Zach Sobiech that has once again inspired me to re-evaluate what is important to me.

My Last Days: Meet Zach Sobiech

Zach, also wrote a song with lyrics that are very moving and uplifting and reassuring. It says a lot about his outlook on his life and I think that it will be one of those songs that I will listen to every now and then when I feel discouraged.

Zach’s Song

Well I fell down, down, down
Into this dark and lonely hole
There was no one there to care about me anymore
And I needed a way to climb and grab a hold of the edge
You were sitting there holding a rope

And we’ll go up, up, up
But I’ll fly a little higher
We’ll go up in the clouds because the view is a little nicer
Up here my dear
It won’t be long now, it won’t be long now

When I get back on land
Well I’ll never get my chance
Be ready to live and it’ll be ripped right out of my hands
Maybe someday we’ll take a little ride
We’ll go up, up, up and everything will be just fine

And we’ll go up, up, up
But I’ll fly a little higher
We’ll go up in the clouds because the view is a little nicer
Up here my dear

It won’t be long now, it won’t be long now
If only I had a little bit more time
If only I had a little bit more time with you

We could go up, up, up
And take that little ride
And sit there holding hands
And everything would be just right
And maybe someday I’ll see you again
We’ll float up in the clouds and we’ll never see the end

And we’ll go up, up, up
But I’ll fly a little higher
We’ll go up in the clouds because the view is a little nicer
Up here my dear
It won’t be long now, it won’t be long now

A beautiful tribute to Zach Sobiech

Thank you SoulPancake for putting together and sharing this wonderful story with the world.

About five8teen

Sometimes known to be "One of the Guys", but genetically I'm "XX". I'm a bit all over the place to be honest. But that's what keeps my days interesting I guess, and I'm never truly bored. So to keep track of this randomness so that 40 years down the road I can still look back and remember what I did on May 8/2011, I took the advice of a dear friend, and started this blog.
This entry was posted in Forever Inspired. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

