Happy 2012 ERRbody!

The clock on my Macbook just hit 3am on Jan 1, 2012.  3 hours in, and I basically just got home from another memorable night with my dearest friends.  IQs didn’t get lowered as badly as other gatherings, but the dip was evident.  And despite my recent adoption of punctuality, tardiness decided to pay me a visit.  A number of things contributed to this slight mishap.  Firstly, my lunch went a little longer than expected, and regretfully so since I lost all 3 games of Monopoly deal.  Secondly I had to make 4 stops to pick up all the ingredients for making tonight’s potluck item, but this was well worth it since it seemed well received.  I still think it needs a bit of work and tweaking so let’s see if I can make it just right!  And lastly, well, I forgot how intense of a workout making zabaglione is!  I DEFINITELY needed a shower after making a 1.5x batch of tiramisu!

So to kick off the new year, I’m not going to give you the tiramisu recipe just yet.  Like I said, it needs tweaking.  And I have to master the craft of making zabaglione!  So you’ll just have to wait a week or two to get that.  Instead, I’m going to give you one of my favorite holiday recipes which I now make every Christmas.  The Maple Pecan Scone was originally a Maple Walnut Scone, but since Pecans and Walnuts have somewhat similar textures and taste, and all I had were pecans, I decided to switch it out, and LIKED IT!

Now, it is only fair that I give credit to the person who’s page I found this recipe, but it was quite a few years ago, so regretfully, I can’t direct you to their page.  If that person ever comes across my page, please let me know who you are!

Ok, let’s get to it shall we?

Maple Pecan Scone

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 + 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 + 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup toasted chopped pecans (may substitute w/ walnuts)
  • 6 tbsp. unsalted cold butter (cut into pieces and chill until you need it)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup half-and-half
  • 1 tsp. maple extract
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Set oven rack to lower center of oven.  Pre-heat oven to 190°C (375°F).  Toast pecans (walnuts) on baking sheet in the preheated oven for 5 minutes.  Cool.
  2. Dry Ingredients: Whisk sugar, flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.  Toss in chilled butter pieces and coat with flour.  Use a pastry blender to cut in the butter until the mixture resembles fine crumbs.  Stir in toasted pecans (walnuts).
  3. Wet Ingredients:  Beat egg in a large bowl.  Mix in the half-and-half, maple extract, and vanilla extract.
  4. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Stir in the dry ingredients, mixing just until blended, switching from spoon to your hands as the mixture comes together.  Place dough in refrigerator for 10 minutes.
  5. Roll chilled dough into a ball on a lightly floured surface.  Flatten dough into a 3/4 inch circle.  Cut into 8 wedges.
  6. Bake scones on a parchment lined baking sheet just until firm and the bottoms are lightly browned.  15-20 minutes.  Cool scones for 3 minutes before transferring to cooling racks.

So there you have it, my holiday scone recipe!  Just remember, keep the butter, egg, and half-and-half cold until you use it.  This helps the dough maintain a fairly low temperature, and this will be important if you want your scone to turn out light and flaky!

PS: I have pictures of how mine look, but I haven’t had time to download them off my camera yet, so I’ll put those into this post at a later time.  This was supposed to be a very BRIEF update, but it’s already 4:18am!  Time for bed!  Zzzzz

About five8teen

Sometimes known to be "One of the Guys", but genetically I'm "XX". I'm a bit all over the place to be honest. But that's what keeps my days interesting I guess, and I'm never truly bored. So to keep track of this randomness so that 40 years down the road I can still look back and remember what I did on May 8/2011, I took the advice of a dear friend, and started this blog.
This entry was posted in Things That Go In Your Mouth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

