Lush & Green…..

No, I’m not talking about a newly laid out lawn.  I mean, come on!  That doesn’t belong in the “Things That Go In Your Mouth” category…..or does it?

Either way, this post ISN’T about getting a new lawn put in.  So what else can be described with the two words, “Lush” and “Green”?  CUPCAKES!  Yes,  I’ve been known to do a bit of baking in my little circle of friends, if you don’t already know.  And I’ve even got a few weddings and birthdays under my “belt”!  But with life being so busy, I haven’t had the opportunity to bake anything since I began this blog.  That is, not until this past weekend.

The occasion was my best friend’s Bridal Shower.  We shall refer to her as “Jodie”.  Jodie is a vegetarian.  Well, she’s actually a pescetarian, but well on her way to being a vegetarian.  Anyway, with that said, I had to steer away from my classic mousse frosting due to the gelatin I put into it (yes, gelatin is made from animal, Wiki it!).  So what to make?  Well, I’ve been familiar with green tea flavour from eating green tea ice cream, but it was only within the last 6-7 months that I’ve really discovered MATCHA!  Thanks to a cup of delicious Soy Green Tea Latte from Starbucks made from soy milk and matcha powder, I have grown to love the matcha flavour!  So to combine two things that I enjoy, I decided to bake cupcakes with matcha!

I love to look for perfect recipes, and by perfect, I mean fit to my own personal taste and standard.  Everyone’s different so I wouldn’t say it’s perfect for everyone.  In my search, I stumbled upon a post by Kid Diva on her blog page, Sugar Bar.  I usually do my searches for recipes by images, and then look over the recipe to see if I think I like it.  And this post of hers convinced me that the recipe she had was going to fit the bill.

So what happened?  Here are the pictures!

Lush & Green    Lush & Green    Lush & Green

So there you have it!  These cupcakes turned out really well!  The cakes were lush and flavourful!  It was nowhere nearly as fluffy as my signature chocolate cake, but sometimes, you just want to have that indulgent kind of chocolate cake, that’s dense, and moist, and lush!  I’m telling you, this is that cake!  And the tiny bit of instant coffee that the recipe called for really helped to enhance the cocoa flavour!  I was a bit disappointed with the cream cheese frosting though.  I had a lot of people tell me the frosting was really good, especially suited to the blander Asian palate, but I personally thought it was a bit lacking.  It was just not……what I was expecting.  I was hoping it would turn out more fluffy, and sweet, while maintaining it’s creaminess.  It was definitely creamy, but I think I would add more icing sugar next time to make it more, frosting-y.  None-the-less, it even please someone as picky as my mom!  I love my mom for being so bluntly honest when it comes to the quality of my creations!  So if she approves, it must be pretty decent.

So for those of you who’d like to give this luscious cake a try, here’s the recipe:

Chocolate Cake Ingredients: (yields 24-30 cupcakes)

  • 3/4 cup butter (room temperature, leave out at room temp 1 hour before using)
  • 1 1/2 cup caster sugar (aka Berry Sugar)
  • 3 large eggs (room temperature, leave out at room temp 1 hour before using)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder (sift this after you measure it to break apart clumps)
  • 2 tbs coffee granules (I used instant coffee. Instant espresso is also ok to use)
  • 1 1/2 cup milk (I used 2%.  The higher the fat content = more dense/heavy/lush)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Chocolate Cake Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 190°C (375°F).
  2. Beat butter till soft, smooth, creamy and pale. Add sugar and beat till creamy. Beat in eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, salt, cocoa and coffee granules together.
  4. In a small bowl or pouring jug, mix the vanilla and milk together.
  5. To combine the ingredients, add 1/3 of the dry ingredients into batter, mix well.  Then add half of the liquid, beat well.  Alternate till you end with the dry ingredients.
  6. Line muffin tray with liners. Fill each cup 2/3 full.
  7. Reduce oven heat to 175°C (350°F).
  8. Bake 25-30 min.
  9. Let cool completely before icing.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post!

About five8teen

Sometimes known to be "One of the Guys", but genetically I'm "XX". I'm a bit all over the place to be honest. But that's what keeps my days interesting I guess, and I'm never truly bored. So to keep track of this randomness so that 40 years down the road I can still look back and remember what I did on May 8/2011, I took the advice of a dear friend, and started this blog.
This entry was posted in Things That Go In Your Mouth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lush & Green…..

  1. diva says:

    Wow your cupcakes are beautiful, I can never get my cream cheese frosting to look right though they always taste pretty damn fine to me. You’re right though about the ‘blandness’ but that’s because I personally put a little less icing sugar than necessary in my icing. Too sweet and they kill me just a tiny bit. Thanks for the link up, I’m glad you managed to please the crowd. x

    • five8teen says:

      Thanks Diva! But your pictures were what sold the recipe to me! Next time, I think I might try making it with that filling you put into the cupcake! I’ve never tried putting stuff into the middle of my cupcakes before, but seeing how you’ve done it, makes me want to give it a try. 🙂 And I agree, frostings tend to be a bit too sweet, so I do the same too. But I think I simply just didn’t add enough icing sugar in the frosting. And texture wise, I think what happened was I was too rushed, and didn’t let the cream cheese come to room temperature, so it didn’t fluff up the way it should have. Thank you so much again for the wonderful recipe and stopping by to leave a comment! I am DEFINITELY going to make that cake again!

Leave a Reply

